Edublog Assignment #3

leslie-shadowbox

 

I live in Oakland CA near bancroft street. The way i would describe the neighborhood i grew up in would be very peaceful but yet very dangerous sometimes. I would describe myself as a very understanding person i’m not always friendly, but i am when i need to be, and if you get to fully know me you’ll see that i care a lot about the people i love. As a daughter i’m not always the most obedient nor peaceful. But i sure do always end up thinking about my mistakes and try to work them out with my parents. Some of the assigned identities i claim are for one my name since my parents chose it with love and as well as who i am as a person. Might not make so much sense but for me my personality is the biggest assigned identity i have for myself. Some of the chosen identities i claim are where i choose to go to school and how i act around people i don’t normally talk to.

 

To begin with i used a picture of a front magazine with a “Latina’ women in it saying this is how to look beautiful. I chose to put that as a dominant picture because it gives us young girls the ideas that we have to look like that when we grow up or even the way we have to look like right now as teenagers. The second picture i chose to show as a dominant narrative about myself is a picture of donald trump’s head saying rude and untrue things about mexicans.  I put that because it’s something that offends my race  by a person that just speaks from higher power and doesn’t actually know who we really are or what we really do. The 3 picture i chose to put as a dominant narrative  is a quote that says a stereotype about latina girls. Something like latina girls are mean because they’re half devil. Which is not true at all.

 

Next, The first picture i chose to put as my counter narrative to represent me is a quote from emma watson that says girls don’t always have to be weak and treated like a princess, but can be strong and independant. That relates to me because it’s true, women don’t have to be stupid and weak so that they can be noticed. Women can be strong and independant and can still be known as beautiful. That’s what i hate about society. Its tells us we have to be a certain way and because of that it doesn’t let us show who we really are how we really act.

 

Furthermore, the images i chose to use as my identity images are a picture of both my parents. I decided to put two seperate pictures. One with my dad and one with my mom because they both have a different reasons of why i love them. But even with all those differences i still love them both. Well like every son and daughter love their parents. I also chose to include a quote that talks about oakland. I think it said something about, “ we can change oakland by being something in life and making it a better community as we grow.” or something important like that. I just chose to add that because in a way it spoke to me. That even though oakland isn’t the best community to grow up in, it’s my home and i just have to make the best out of it, so i can grow up and be something in life, make my parents proud of the things that i do. The last picture i chose to include is a picture of a little monkey

 

Finally people see me. as a quite independant girl. I would also describe myself as independant and sort of good but i would also describe myself as outgoing caring and serious when i have to be and playful and loud at the right time.if people really knew me they would know that i only give people 2 chances to mess up on the third your just a person thats in my class or something. If i dont like you ill let you know and not be be fake.but even by saying that people sjould know that i am a very sweet nice person deep down. Telling the story of who i am is important because its a way of giving people a small summary of who i am what i like do and what my personality is like. Thats the most important thing, letting people know who the real me is. What i learned in this unit is that everything they say bad about you isnt always the truth, only you will know who u are, whats the truth and whats not true.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *